Here It Goes Again

Posted: June 8, 2007 in Health, Homelessness, Hopes

Sometimes I can be a real "Master of the Obvious."

For example:

I think that if I didn’t feel so bad, I’d feel a lot better. (DUH!)

It turns out that I have a cold again. So if over the next few posts I sound a bit loopy, you’ll have to bear with me. Between the cold, the lack of sleep (from coughing and hacking all night) and the dollar store version of NyQuil I’m sure that my brain is going to be a bit foggy.  

I didn’t want to catch a cold again so soon after having had one just about two months ago, but then I didn’t have a choice. My other half (somehow) decided that if she had one, I should have one as well. I’m pretty sure that what she did was cough on me while I was sleeping.

Actually I know she didn’t do that. But, it’s hard to not catch a cold when there are two people living in a small 8 by 8 tent.

The thing about getting this cold is that the weather is getting nicer outside (or so they tell me) and I don’t want to be couped up in our little tent – which is about the size of a extremely small closet. Besides which I do have things to do, like try to work my way out of homelessness.

The one thing I’m really concerned with right now, is knowing that I’m going to end up losing more weight during this cold. Every time I get a cold I drop about 5 to 7 pounds. It’s bad enough that in the time I’ve been homeless I’ve lost between 30 and 35 pounds – now I’m about to lose some more. That’s something that I can ill afford (no pun intended.)

What makes it worse is that food doesn’t taste all that great when you’ve got a cold. Most of the meals that homeless people get from homeless shelters and other homeless support service agencies aren’t the tastiest meals to begin with. Even fast food doesn’t taste all that great when it’s a part of your regular diet.

I’m already a bean pole and have had to get pants that are smaller around the waist. Now it looks like I may have to do that again. It’s either that or begin wearing suspenders so that they won’t slide off my already thinner waist.

I know that there are some who would say that they would give anything to shed a few pounds. I’m not one of those. I’m looking to put more than a few pounds back on. But being homeless doesn’t lend itself to high calorie diets.

Almost all food packaging comes with the daily value percentages of what is in the package. Those percentages are based on 2000 to 2500 calories per day diets. Right now if I’m getting about 1000 calories per day I feel lucky.

Anyway, that’s what I get to look forward to over the next few days.

After that, hopefully, things will get back to normal…

…Or as normal as life can get for a homeless person.

Comments
  1. Michael:
    Hello. My name is John Tiedemann. We met you
    downtown last week with our dog, Benji, our wire-haired, 14 Pound, Terrier. I enjoyed
    checking out your site. Keep up the great work!! I read you have experienced some back
    injuries. I’m sorry to hear that. If you want
    to check out our web-site regarding the Mangosteen Juice that I distribute at JBsJuice.com. This is an amazing product that
    you might find very interesting. There is also
    a business side to this product that is pretty
    cool as well. The Company’s web-site is
    XANGO.net.
    Please take a look. Let me know what you think.
    I am always looking for people looking to grow
    their dreams!!!
    Take Care,
    John Tiedemann 541-3412
    *PS: Benji says Hi!!!

What's your opinion?

