Home For Christmas

Posted: December 5, 2007 in Children, Compassion, Family, Friendship, Homeless Shelters, Homelessness, Hopes, Housing

In just about 20 days, there are going to be many children who will be expecting Santa Claus to pay a visit to their homes on sometime between the time they go to sleep on Christmas Eve and wake up on Christmas morning. They are looking forward to waking up and rushing to the Christmas tree to see if Santa has left them anything. More than that however – they will be checking to see if Santa left them what they wanted.

This is also the time of year when the department stores and shopping malls are being flooded by throngs of shoppers who are looking for just the right gift for that "special someone(s)" in their lives.

Some radio stations are playing nothing but an endless stream of Christmas songs… which personally, is starting to get on my nerves.  

For some reason, I seem to recall that there were a lot more than just a handful of Christmas carols. So either my memory isn’t all that intact or the radio stations must have extremely limited budgets because I seem to be hearing the same 6 or 7 songs over and over again – that is until yesterday.

At some point during the day the song: "I’ll be home for Christmas" was played. The last line of the song is the most poignant and bittersweet:

"…I’ll be home for Christmas, if only in my dreams"

It started me thinking about the homeless, not only in my community, but throughout the entire nation who will not be home for Christmas. They have no home.

Many of them will find themselves waiting in a line at a homeless shelter hoping for a meal and a bed. Some will find themselves without a bed and be forced to look for somewhere else to sleep: behind a building, in a doorway, in some darkened corner in an alleyway, under bushes or bridges, or anywhere else they can avoid drawing undue attention to themselves.

There will be children whose parent(s) have a vehicle, so they get to look forward to sleeping in the back seat under as many blankets and sleeping bags as it takes to stay warm.

I’ve made friends with some of the homeless in my community. Some of them have children. There are also other friends I have in other parts of the nation who, unfortunately, find themselves homeless right now.

I worry about them. I wish that they didn’t have to face this – or any other Christmas for that matter – being homeless. I wish that they had some place, other than the streets of our nation’s cities, to call "home."

… I wish that I had the means to provide them with the warmth and comfort they deserve – if for no other reason than they too are people just like the rest of this nations’ citizenry.

As I thought on these things, the last line of the song kept coming into my mind:

"…I’ll be home for Christmas, if only in my dreams"

Suddenly, I found myself crying like an elfin child lost in a gigantic dark and gloomy forest…

P.S. –

Dear Santa,

If by some chance you happen to read this, I don’t want anything for me. But could you please bring some hope for those of my friends who find themselves without a place to call "home" this Christmas?

Thank You,

– m –

What's your opinion?

